Skip to content

The big dig

May 25, 2009

On a lovely sunny day (not so long ago) a bottle hunt took place on the Downs above Brighton’s beautiful beach. It was, by far, one of the best examples of free fun I can think of.
Just imagine, underneath your feet – the relics of history – from the original brown glass Marmite jars (Love it? I hate it) to the Brighton-specific Hooper-Struve spa bottles. I was surprised that Time Team weren’t there and our hosts Daphne and Simon who told us about this find, couldn’t have taken us to a better place! Simon it seems, is a master huntsman when it comes to finding them and try as we might, it were he that kept unearthing them.
One of my favourite finds was this RAF piece of china – unfortunately it was broken but I’d like to think about the conversations it must have heard and the people that used it.

dig

Comments are closed.

